Hippodrome: planning for 2021

Following the festive pantomime, Cinderella, which runs until Sunday 3 January, 2021 will kick off with Steve Steinman’s fuel-injected stage show Anything For Love celebrating the music of Meatloaf (Monday 18 January). The show will feature Lorraine Crosby, original vocalist on the hit duet ‘I’d do anything for love (but I won’t do that)’.

The Birmingham Stage Company, the company behind Billionaire Boy and Awful Auntie, returns to Darlington between Thursday 25 and Sunday 28 February with a four-day run of their stage adaptation of David Walliams’ book Gangsta Granny.

Strictly Come Dancing favourite Giovanni Pernice brings his brand-new show This Is Me to the theatre on Monday 15 March. If you prefer your entertainment a little more sedate but no less entertaining, then enjoy The Good Old Days of Variety (Tuesday 16 March) as headline guests The Dreamers are joined by comedy legend Duggie Brown and Victoria Jones with her tribute to Cilla Black.

Featuring a star-studded cast from stage and screen, By The Waters of Liverpool is an adaptation of Helen Forrester’s million-selling book. Sian Reeves and Mark Moraghan head the cast in this emotional story of life and love during World War Two.

April and May bring a selection of shows for one night only including tribute to Tina Turner What’s Love Got To Do With It (Tuesday 6 April), One Night at the VE Day Proms (Tuesday 4 May) and an evening with Sir Ranulph Fiennes (Wednesday 5 May). Kate Rusby brings her exquisite folk vocals to Darlington (Thursday 6 May) alongside her four-piece band; and the Vortice Dance Company from Portugal present their contemporary take on the classic horror novel Dracula (Monday 17 May). Music lovers have a treat in store with Walk Right Back the story of the Everly Brothers (Tuesday 18 May), The Magic of Motown (Thursday 20 May), Jools Holland and his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra (Friday 21 May) and Seven Drunken Nights celebrating the music of The Dubliners (Saturday 22 May).

Families will love The Tiger Who Came To Tea (Thursday 3 to Saturday 5 June). Jason Manford brings his one man show, Like Me, to Darlington (Saturday 31 July) as part of his UK tour. Lovers of musical theatre can enjoy music from Jonathan Andell and Jai McDowall in their show Les Musicals with songs from Wicked, Miss Saigon, Chess and of course Les Misérables.

Looking further ahead, the theatre will welcome 2022 with the  musical Strictly Ballroom (Monday 3 to Saturday 8 January 2022), starring Kevin Clifton and based on the award-winning film.

Councillor Andy Keir, Darlington Borough Council’s cabinet member for local services, said: “We’ve got an exciting programme planned for 2021 at Darlington Hippodrome with high-quality shows throughout the year. Live theatre in the town will be stronger than ever.”